Nigeria wins UN Security Council Seat for the fourth time

Nigeria has been elected into non-permanent seat of the United Nations Security Council for the fourth time since after Independence and second time under President Goodluck Jonathan.

Nigeria got 186 out of a possible 193 votes to clinch the seat on Thursday at the UN headquarters in New York with the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Chad, Chile and Lithuania taking the other four seats.

President Goodluck Jonathan has expressed his delight over Nigeria clinching the UN seat.

This is contained in a statement released in the capital, Abuja on by Special Adviser to the president on Media and Publicity, Dr Reuben Abati.

"The President believes that today's endorsement of Nigeria's candidature for the Security Council seat by the vast majority of member-countries is a growing expression of support and encouragement for Nigeria's active participation in the promotion of peace, security and political stability in Africa and other parts of the world." The Statement reads.

"The President is particularly delighted by this historic victory and assures the global community that Nigeria, under his leadership, will continue to make very significant contributions towards the achievement and sustenance of global peace and security."

Nigeria previously held UN non-permanent Security Council seat in 2010-2011 under president Goodluck Jonathan' administration.